Parish Council

Ainstable Parish Council

The Parish Council consists of locally elected volunteer councillors who represent the various communities, together with a paid part-time clerk. The Parish Council is a part of the structure of local democracy, and has many roles acting on behalf of the communities they represent including:

  • Giving views on planning applications and other proposals that affect the parish.
  • Undertaking projects and schemes that benefit local residents.
  • Working in partnership with other bodies to achieve benefits for the parish.
  • Alerting relevant authorities to problems that arise or work that needs to be undertaken.
  • Helping the other tiers of local government keep in touch with their local communities.

Town and Parish Councils have a wide range of legal duties and powers, including the maintenance of community buildings and land and much more. They have the power to raise a precept through the council tax to support local projects and activities.

Ainstable Parish Council recognises its duties in regard to bio-diversity, and crime and disorder. It holds full Public Liability Insurance.


Ainstable Parish Council employs a Clerk and Responsible Financial Officer for 6 hours per week. The Clerk has a contract of employment in line with national standards and is trained in line with the council’s Training and Development Policy.

The current Clerk is Kimberley Lawson. She can be contacted here.

Parish Boundaries

Ainstable civil parish stretches from the banks of the River Eden to the summits of the North Pennines where it borders with Northumberland. It includes the villages of Ainstable, Croglin and Newbiggin as well as the communities of Dale, Ruckcroft and Longdales plus many individual farms and houses.

Map supplied under PSMA Licence No 100052566